Careful, Your Fun Peace Sign Selfie may Lead to Identity Theft

Astute News

The fingerprint sensor on your phone is the key to revealing all the private information stored on the device, and it does a good job of keeping it secure. However, if a thief were to get hold of your fingerprint and your phone, it wouldn’t provide much protection anymore. Think that’s unlikely? The National Institute of Informatics in Japan has warned that photos posted online in which the “peace sign” is flashed, may be all that’s need to hack the system.

Professor Isao Echizen says smartphone camera technology is now so great, and the images taken so full of detail, fingerprints can be copied simply by showing your fingertips to the camera. It’s not just super close-ups that are the problem, as his experiments showed data could be grabbed from photos taken up to three meters away. Unless you’re very bizarrely shaped, or have a particularly long selfie stick, that…

View original post 236 more words

About Kenneth T.

My blog, My way Welcome to a little piece of my life. Here you will find things concerning my everyday experiences and or my thoughts on everyday happenings. For instance you may find thoughts of my Farmstead, which is as my wife calls it, our Accidental Farming life. Perhaps on a whim, I might just jump on a soap box about what's going on with my crazy family (the immediate one, that is).~You don't need to put a penny in the coin slot for any commentary there~ You may find, new additions to what I call "Hobby-time". Ahh yes, my hobby... I make pinback buttons (some call them badges). Sorry for the shameful plug ;-) *** And then there is the outside the box or "Offtrack" thinking, part of me. Which can be anything else from aliens to the zoology of the Loch Ness monster, but will probably be more mundane as health concerns, for instance, to vaccinate or not. Is the Earth Flat or is it Hollow? Is there a dome? Is any of it real? Do you really want to know? Police brutality and the continuing corruption of established government, Big Business, Big Oil, Big Brother. Can we survive? Should we survive? The coming montrary collapse. There is so much going on, more then we see outside our windows.
This entry was posted in Shared. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Careful, Your Fun Peace Sign Selfie may Lead to Identity Theft

  1. Kenneth T. says:

    Haha – suckers, I use my big toe.
    .
    .
    .
    Oops, maybe I shouldn’t have said that.

    Like

Comments are closed.